SB5 2013 – I Capitani

OVALE BEACH 2013It was an early start at the Lignano Beach Arena today.

All the Captains had summoned their troops to participate in the biggest Beach 5′s tournament of the year. It was a long hot intense day of play. The squads gave it their all. The newcomers from the USA, Spain and Les Bleus from France were welcomed to the Beach 5′s community in what simply could be called a baptism of fire.

With matches being streamed live and all results being posted on our facebook page (www.facebook.com/BeachRugby.Lignano ) we hope that you’re all well updated by this stage. However, before we relax for the evening, for those who haven’t yet heard the news, here’s a quick run down on the final classification after today’s POOL Qualification phase. Just to say it makes great reading for the Belgians, the Dutch and the French. BUT nothing is won just yet ! All is still to play for…….

CLASSIFICATION LISTING AFTER DAY 1:

1) GHENT MAGNETS – BELGIUM

2) DUTCH LIONS – NETHERLANDS

3) OVALE BEACH MARSEILLE – FRANCE

4) I PESSIMI – ITALY

5) DANUBE PIRATES – AUSTRIA

6) THE ROMANTICS – GERMANY

7) PACIFIC ISLANDERS – PACIFIC ISLANDS

8) FLAIR BEARS – ENGLAND

9) BELIEF TONGA – TONGA

10) THE EAGLES – USA

11) LES BLEUS – FRANCE

12) ASTURES CELTAS – SPAIN

Play resumes tomorrow morning at 09.00 GMT + 1hour (10.00 local time in Italy). The live stream will begin at approx. 09.45 and will feature all matches including quater finals, semi-finals and the remaining play-off games. All going well, the final itself will be at 16.00 GMT + 1hour (17.00 local time in Italy).

In spite of some initial technical issues on the live stream, it’s great to have had such fantastic viewing figures all day today, from all around the world. Stay tuned on facebook, twitter and the live stream.

Full results will be posted on the site at the earliest possible time tomorrow.